Dubai Government

Ruling family in Dubai

The Al Maktoum family is the ruling family in Dubai with Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum is being the Ruler of Dubai. The United Arab Emirates operates as a constitutional federation. Find out more about the government in the UAE below.

UAE Constitution

The UAE Constitution has been in place since December 2nd 1971. There are 152 Articles in the Constitution which is written in 10 sections. The Constitution was written by Adi Bitar, who was a former judge and legal advisor. To find out more about each part of the Constitution click here.

Federal Authorities in the UAE

Federal Supreme Council: This is the highest constitutional authority in the UAE. The Federal Supreme Council is composed of the Rulers in each of the seven emirates of the UAE which consists of:

• H.H. President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Ruler of Abu Dhabi
• H.H. Vice President and Prime Minister Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Ruler of Dubai
• H.H. Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Ruler of Sharjah
• H.H. Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi, Ruler of Ra’s al-Khaimah
• H.H. Sheikh Hamad bin Mohammed Al Sharqi, Ruler of Fujairah
• H.H. Sheikh Saud bin Rashid Al Mu’alla, Ruler of Umm al-Qaiwain
• H.H. Sheikh Humaid bin Rashid Al Nuaimi, Ruler of Ajman

President and Vice President: The Federal Supreme Council elects the President and Vice President of the UAE. The President is responsible for heading the Federal Supreme Council. The President also appoints the Prime Minister of the UAE.
The Cabinet: This body of government acts as the executive branch in the UAE. They oversee internal and external affairs of the UAE government.

Federal National Council: The Federal National Council is made up of 40 members. The seats are divided as follows:

• 8 seats from Abu Dhabi
• 8 seats from Dubai
• 6 seats from Sharjah
• 6 seats from Ras Al Khaimah
• 4 seats from Ajman
• 4 seats from Umm Al Quwain
• 4 seats from Fujairah

Federal Judicial Authority: This body of government is made up of the Federal Supreme Court, Federal First Instance Courts and Federal Appeals Courts.

Government Departments

Government departments in Dubai include the following:

• Dubai Civil Defense
• Department of Economic Development
• Department of Finance
• Department of Tourism and Commerce Marketing
• Dubai Chamber
• Dubai Customs
• Smart Dubai Government Establishment
• Dubai Government Human Resources Department
• Dubai Municipality
• Dubai Trade
• Financial Audit Department
• Islamic Affairs and Charitable Activities
• Land Department
• Protocol Department of Dubai
• The Government of Dubai Legal Affairs Department

To find out more about each of these departments click here.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons